Surely I have composed and quieted my soul

August 11, 2008

Psalm 131
Childlike Trust in the LORD.
A Song of Ascents, of David.

1 O LORD, my heart is not proud, nor my eyes haughty;
Nor do I involve myself in great matters,
Or in things too difficult for me.

2 Surely I have composed and quieted my soul;
Like a weaned child rests against his mother,
My soul is like a weaned child within me.

3 O Israel, hope in the LORD
From this time forth and forever.

I just got home from Cambodia.  I have many many thoughts about the trip but for now, it will suffice for me to say that for the first time in a long long time, my mind isn’t in overdrive.  Actually, that’s not true.  My mind is always swirling with a million thoughts.  But for now, in a very good way.  In the way that inspires, challenges and makes one feel ALIVE!

I have to say – The serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference is a very very awesome blessing indeed.

More about the trip later.  🙂

Leave a comment