Otto Fong

September 13, 2007

I read Mr Otto Fong’s “coming-out open letter” (and the ensuing comments) with some interest.  First up, I will say that I take the same stance as the “official church dogma” on homosexuality.  As a Christian leader, I will do no less.  At the same time, I am “gay-friendly” which makes me a slightly curious (and confused?) creature.   

There is some perception that it is the organised church movement that is driving the anti-gay agenda in Singapore.  I don’t know whether that is true and to some extent, I don’t have many intelligent things to say about homosexuality at the policy-level.   

But this whole thing makes me think about that story in the Gospel of John (chapter 8 ) where a woman was caught in adultery and she was brought to Jesus at the Temple.  The Law of Moses commanded her to be stoned and the Pharisees challenge Jesus on this point.  Jesus simply replied, “He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first.”  Of course this is rhetorical question and as the realization sinks in, the crowd gradually disperses.  When finally Jesus is left alone with the woman, He asks her, “Where are your accusers?”  “They are gone”, she says.  And Jesus said to her, “Neither do I condemn you; go and sin no more.” 

While Christians are often tempted to pick up at first stone, I pray that we are gripped by the reality that we too have no right.  We too desperately need mercy for there will come a day when we need Grace to protect us from stoning.  Not condoning a lifestyle surely does not extend to attacking and destroying individuals or groups of individuals.   

Whatever it is, I respect Otto for taking a stand for something he believes in, in spite of the personal costs.  There are too many Christians who make bold and dramatic declarations of devotion to God on Sunday only to fail in simple tests of faith on Monday.  There is something to be said about integrity of character and walking the talk.  Christians can learn a lot from him in that respect.

One Response to “Otto Fong”


  1. […] Views Otto Fong My Brain… on TOC Exclusive: Otto Fong&#8217…nutCase on TOC Exclusive: Otto Fong&#8217…trulysingapore on […]


Leave a comment