Halfway point

July 19, 2009

I am almost ½ way though the 24h playwriting competition.  ½ the room has fallen asleep in various permutations of sleeping bags, blankets, sweaters and pillows.  Some just find a bit of floor, take off their shoes and curl up into a fetal position.  I’m still hanging tough.  Not bad considering that my last couple of coffee was about 10h ago.  (Although I might need a nap in a bit.)

My play is progressing.  Slowly.  So far, I have 4 characters, 8 pages of dialogue and a streetlight (which I’m starting to think is superfluous and non-value-adding.).  I’m trying to prevent my play from being about dysfunctional relationships and degenerating into melodrama.  To which my friend’s response was – Why deny Van Gogh his sunflowers?  Oh dear.

But as amusingly as this is going, there is some satisfaction in writing your first play.  It’s really more an exercise in the process rather than the content of the play.  This is no Tony Award, that’s for sure.  But as with most things in life, you don’t know till you try.  And I figure that having written a really bad play is better than having written no play at all.

(BTW, I was the only (crazy?) person looking out at the view towards the city at 3.30am in the morning.  Something wonderful about that.  We saw the fireworks from the National Day Parade earlier this evening too!  And the kites!!!  So much fun.)

Leave a Reply

