8pm in the office

March 27, 2009

It’s 8pm in the office on a Friday night.  I arranged dinner for late but I’m so hungry now that I’ve lost all ability to concentrate.  It has been an insane week.  Very busy.  Juggling a few too many balls.  But oddly, I’ve mostly enjoyed it.  Been highly productive and remarkably “in the zone”.

Random work-process related observations.

  1. Technology seriously helps.  I am juggling too many things but calenders, to-do lists, RSS feeds and delicious links really really help to get me organized.
  2. Planning helps.  I am a “P” personality (Myer-Briggs).  Over the last couple of days, I’ve needed to be a crazy list-maker to compensate for my natural inclination to leave everything open-ended.
  3. Being buzzy doesn’t always help.  My brain can be a little bit of live firing range.  Which is fine till you need to FOCUS on one thing and get that damn thing done.  Having a “parking lot” equivalent where you can just dump stuff is useful.
  4. Unproductive noise, particular inane chatter really really bugs me when I need to concentrate.  For some reason, I have a real problem zoning that out.
  5. I am not a morning person at all.  It’s terrible.

But, I’m a happy camper.  It’s been a good week.  And damn I earned that Friday night (and Thursday night) beer.

“Nothing is better for a man than that he should eat and drink, and that his soul should enjoy good in his labour.  This also, I saw, was from the hand of God.”

Ecclesiastes 2:24

Leave a Reply

