Bible interpretation

January 21, 2009

One of the curses of being a former cell group leader is that it is actually extremely difficult to just be a cell member.  This doesn’t bode well for me because I’m actually trying to fly under the radar.  It isn’t really working too well.

On Sunday, we talked about Acts 3 and the question was posed to breakdown the “mechanics” of how the lame man was healed and whose faith healed him.  Needless to say, I couldn’t stand it (incorrect doctrine on faith and healing being a pet peeve of mine) and said my 2 cents worth about how it was unwise to extrapolate a principle from a narrative and that it would be terrible to say to a sick person – You are sick because you don’t have enough faith (or something equally ridiculous).  It was merely intended as an example to show that this is one of the ways God works.  Not the only way, not even the preferred way.  Just one of the ways.  I then started my speech (well rehearsed clearly) about how every belief system has to explain why bad stuff happens to good people.  A monotheistic religion like Christianity just gives you someone convenient to blame.  Oh dear. I really hope I didn’t come across as being totally arrogant. Learn to shut up, Cheryl!

(5 minutes later)

This is why I don’t always like doing my QT. I just had a thought – 14 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Matthew 5:14-15

Something/someone tells me that flying under the radar is not going to be the permanent solution.  Urg.

Leave a Reply

