This road

January 20, 2009

I walk/run down this road a couple of times a week.  It’s on my 6km running route and on the way back from the gym/work.  It’s along a main road and any time before midnight, I generally consider the route to be extremely safe and don’t think too much about walking home.

Today, I changed my mind when some random guy on a motorbike pulled up next to me and offered me a ride.  (This is after he said hello to me a couple of blocks earlier.  Very disconcerting.)  “No, I’m fine.  Thank you,” I said.  Even when accosted, I’m polite.  I surprise myself.

It turns out that men find me more interesting when I’m not in my running gear or in sloppy weekend casuals.  And graciously deflecting unwanted attention is a useful life skill.

(Also a useful life skill:  Charming the waitress into giving you a table at a crowded restaurant when there technically isn’t one available.  It’s been an interesting evening.)

Leave a Reply

