Today, thankful

January 13, 2009

When I stepped through the door this evening, Mom asked how my day was.  “Pretty busy but productive,” I said.  Then I realised that I was supposed to have been on leave today.  I had canceled it because some odd sense of responsibility meant that I felt that I should attend the meetings that were scheduled while I was away.  At about the same time, I also realised that I was actually pretty happy to be at work today and honestly didn’t mind canceling my leave.

Wow.  I’m pretty sure that is rare and something to be thankful for.  So today, I am thankful because I know that it wouldn’t have mattered whether I spent my day at work or on leave.  I would still have been happy.

Leave a Reply

