15 memories from Penang

January 13, 2009

dsc_0045

(Because Bryan took the bulk of the photos and I didn’t take a single picture of *any* of the char kuay teow we ate, here is a really random picture of a trishaw against the blue wall of the Cheong Fatt Tze mansion.  One day, I will plop myself in the front of the mansion with a sketchbook, pencil and my little watercolour set and attempt to draw/paint a picture of it.)

I am back from the land of too much char kuay teow!  Very nice trip.

Here are 15 random memories:

  1. Watching TV with Bryan at night.  I suppose this must be normal for most families but neither of us watch TV.  EVER.
  2. Trying to figure out if the wedding singer was a girl or a boy.  Oh dear.  (My vote went with boy.)
  3. The Cheong Fatt Tze mansion – the most brilliant shade of blue.
  4. Char kuay teow, rojak, ice kachang, assam laksa, chicken hor fun, kueh pie ti, satay and a whole bunch of other glorious hawker delights.
  5. Seeing E the happiest I’ve ever seen him.  Very nice.  It says a lot about the kind of person he is when university friends from almost 20 years ago would fly 1/2 way around the world just to attend the wedding.
  6. Bringing 5 pairs of shoes.  A new record.  Overpacking is a pain.
  7. Splashing/swimming in the hotel pool with Bryan.  I think the last time we did that was 15 years ago or something equally ridiculous.
  8. Observing my parents up close for a couple of days and noting with amusement who I get some of my personality traits from.
  9. Getting to know D a little better.  He seems nice and will be good to be in HK for their wedding.
  10. Watching Nemo with the kids in the side room in a totally ridiculous dress and resisting the urge to steal their food.  Mac and Cheese in a floor-length dress.  Classy!
  11. Sleeping in the car.  A lot.
  12. Amusedly replying really random SMSes from my really random friends back home.  Yes yes.  I miss you too and I bought you food.
  13. Doing our Chinese New Year goodie shopping in Melaka.  Pineapple tarts!!
  14. Fighting over the lunch bill with Dad.  I guess he’ll always think I’m 10 and penniless even though I’ve been working for a couple of years now.
  15. Hanging out with the extended family.  So many of them!  A total zoo.  In a good way.

(By the way, I didn’t run along the beach and I barely got a tan.  So much for my pre-holiday KPIs  Not complaining though. )

Now, if you would excuse me, I have to work out non-stop over the next couple of days and will be eating like a rabbit.  Chinese New Year is at the end of next week?!!  Goodness.

Leave a Reply

