Half a year of pain

December 18, 2008

So my Christmas present to myself was about 1/2 a year of pain.  My gym was doing personal trainer packages for the festive season and so I thought that I might sign myself up for a whole bunch of sessions with a trainer.  The guy I spoke was nice enough and seemed to know what he was doing.  I told him about my new year’s resolution to run a marathon next year and he used to do marathons so everything was sweet.

At my first session today, he tells me that he’s the trainer from hell.  The things I DID NOT know before I signed the contract.  Oh dear. All the leg workouts were fine.  (Then again, I run so I suppose my legs are in better shape.)  But it turns out that I have no upper-body strength to speak of.  Goodness, my arms are going to be jelly tomorrow.  Triceps?  What are those?!

At the end of the session, I thought I do a bit more cardio before heading off for dinner.

Working out some more?

Yup.  I thought I’d do a little more cardio before I go.  (Read:  I was going to run 2km and call it quits.  What’s that?  15mins?)

Great!  You should go longer, especially if you want start burning fat (as opposed to just blood sugar).  45mins.  Bye!  I’m off for dinner.

When he got back from dinner, I was still working out.  Urg.

(By the way, the twice a week night 4km run route has been banned.  Need to up the distance to 6km.)

So, as a strategist, this is my dilemma:  Do I up the intensity of my non-PT gym workouts to get in shape faster so that I don’t die at my PT sessions, therefore being in perpetual physical pain through the week?  Or do I be a complete slacker so that I only have to die once a week?  Oh dear.

(Damn this type A personality.  I already know I’m going to be in perpetual physical pain for pretty much the first half of 2009.)

Leave a comment