From my Quiet Time yesterday

October 3, 2008

O Lord, when Thou didst call me, didst Thou know

O Lord, when Thou didst call me, didst Thou know
My heart disheartened through and through,
Still hankering after Egypt full in view
Where cucumbers and melons grow?
– ‘Yea, I knew’ –

But, Lord when Thou didst choose me, didst Thou know
How marred I was and withered too,
Not rose for sweetness nor for virtue rue,
Timid and rash, hasty and slow?
– ‘Yea, I knew’ –

My Lord, when Thou didst love me, didst Thou know
How weak my efforts were, how few,
Tepid to love and impotent to do,
Envious to reap while slack to sow?
– ‘Yea, I knew’ –

Good Lord, Who knowest what I cannot know
And dare not to know, my false, my true,
My new, my old; Good Lord, arise and do
If loving Thou hast known me so.
– ‘Yea, I knew’ –

Christina Rossetti

Leave a Reply

