Kayaking

September 2, 2008

I spent my weekend kayaking. It was one of those things. Basically, I had happily accepted PS’s invitation without too much thought. A weekend paddling around in the sun sounded like a nice relaxing way to get a tan. But when the date rolled around, I was like – Wait a minute?! I’m going to spend my weekend with ultra-marathoners and triathletes getting a kayaking certification?! I clearly hadn’t thought this through. Let’s just say that Cheryl (the antiwaterbaby) had pre-kayaking weekend anxiety.

Fortunately for me, J pointed out that there was nothing to be anxious about because it’s not like I hadn’t done stuff that was WAY OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE this year – like run 10km and other odd things that I never thought I’d do. And this was just another one of those things. It was a good point and I felt better. It is very important to have mindset-shifting friends.

It turned out kayaking was a lot of fun. The course felt like being back in school – sitting around in a circle (albeit in kayaks) listening to some dude telling you to do things you don’t want to do (like capsize into the Kallang river – GROSS!). I capsized (intentionally and unintentionally) more times than I care to remember but hey, practice makes perfect. My control of the kayak is also extremely poor though I suppose it’s one of those things that should improve with time (or with the addition of a rudder).

All that said, I didn’t drown. I have a tan. I met some interesting people. I had fun. So I’m a happy camper.

Email me if you want to go kayaking! I am now CERTIFIED.

*pats self on back*

Leave a Reply

