Mad about english

August 26, 2008

You have to see “Mad About English”.  Seriously.  It’s funny, heart-warming and hopeful.  The characters are (for the most part) endearing and earnestly adorable.  A very profitable way to spend an hour or so.

The movie got me thinking about what it means to be an english-speaking Chinese.  Actually, english is the only language I speak and honestly, I don’t really see myself as Chinese so it’s all very baffling to me. But I loved their earnest desire to improve and to contribute back to society.  I loved their passion and drive. Facing your fears. Working for what you want. Caring enough to fight for it.  Investing. Risking.  I like!

I really need to do something about my mandarin (and spend some time in China)!

Leave a Reply

