I need a plan

August 19, 2008

I already know what my new year’s resolution for 2009 is going to be – To run a marathon.

*cue collective gasp of horror*

If there is one thing I’ve realized about myself over the years, it is that I am very determined but only selectively so most of the time, I’m a lazy bum. I need to be very intentional about maintaining my motivation and mindfucking myself, otherwise I’d never get anything done. And since I’ve freed up a significant amount of time, I probably should find things to do. I’ll totally be up to mischief otherwise!

So, in anticipation of next year’s resolution, this is what I’ve done:
1. Signed up for another 10k race in October.
2. Decided to sign up for a ½ marathon in December.
3. Started an EXCEL spreadsheet labeled “Training for GE 10k” run.
4. Printed out a 10-km training guide which includes some simple speedwork.
5. Entered a running schedule for this week into my calendar, which includes a long run on Saturday morning.

It feels good to have a plan.  Now all I need to do is put on my shoes and actually run.  Ha!

Leave a Reply

