I love you with the fire red, now its turning blue

May 26, 2008

This week, I’ve been thinking about how good communication is a real art.  It seems to be a combination of the content of the message, the context of the message and its timing.  It is sad that the content of a message can be missed or become obsolete without the right context or timing.  It is even sadder that relationships can be broken on the back of miscommunication.  A conversation that would have made all the difference 6 months ago is completely obsolete 6 months late.  It is kinda sad to listen to things that you were waiting to hear but then you got tired of waiting and now it was just too little too late.  It can be too late to apologise. 

Anyway, the point of the post is not to winge about that but as a mental note to myself that warm, fuzzy thoughts towards someone I care about is bullshit if it is not expressed.  Sincerity aside, there is an element of skill involved.  I notice that there are some people who are particularly good at expressing appreciation and affection.  They are specific about the things they appreciate.  They know the little physical gestures to accompany the words to get their point across.  Their voices soften.  Their words slow down.  They know how to say the right things at the right time.

I’ve also been thinking about the role of the Holy Spirit in all of this.  What makes one person able to tell from the tone of your voice than you need a friend and another walk blindly by?  What makes one person willing to take the risk to find out and another fearful of possible rejection?  I’d like to say God but maybe it is a complicated mix of sincerity, skill and Spirit.  Either way, after a conversation where I said, “I don’t care anymore” more times that I want to remember, I think I want to be the kind of person who cares too much, rather than not at all. 

Leave a Reply

