All my friends are leaving Brisbane

April 19, 2008

I watched All My Friends Are Leaving Brisbane last weekend.  I liked it.  The tagline of the movie is “If you’re in your 20s, single and hate your job, you’ve got to get out of this town”.  Ha!  I love my job and am unfortunately still entertaining thoughts of getting out of this town. It can’t be a good thing.  I guess it was one of those movies where the concept isn’t new but there were some gems in the scriptwriting and artistic direction.  It had its moments of pure genius!

The whole quarter-life crisis thing fascinates me.  A plethora of choice and opportunity just opens up when you are 20 and the entire decision making process induces paralysis.  Family, friends, career, love, kids etc.  So many choices, so little time!  It is all very befuddling.

*spoiler warning* As an aside, Director Louise Alston was at the screening and she made an interesting point about how the play had a different ending from the film. The play, directed by a guy, ended with the main girl character leaving for London and the main boy character starting a band with his friend. In the film, directed by a girl, the 2 leads get together.  This was fascinating to me.  It’s interesting how gender differences manifest themselves.

All in all, an honest and entertaining film. Go see it!

One Response to “All my friends are leaving Brisbane”

  1. Rachelle Says:

    hahaa… like u say, that sounds like a description of me. Hmmm, maybe i should watch the show and see if there are more similarities… ;P


Leave a Reply

