Oh dear. I think I’m a perfectionist.

December 4, 2007

From the NYTimes

“Some researchers divide perfectionists into three types, based on answers to standardized questionnaires: Self-oriented strivers who struggle to live up to their high standards and appear to be at risk of self-critical depression; outwardly focused zealots who expect perfection from others, often ruining relationships; and those desperate to live up to an ideal they’re convinced others expect of them, a risk factor for suicidal thinking and eating disorders.”

What an interesting article! I totally display traits of a “self-oriented striver” and an “outwardly focused zealot”. This probably explains why I’ve been using the phrase “cannot make it” a lot in recent months… (Well, at least most of my angst is caused because of my perfectionist streak and not because I’m crazy. Or so I hope. Haha.)

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference!

Leave a Reply

