A word in season to him who is weary

November 21, 2007

“The Lord God has given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him who is weary. He awakens me morning by morning. He awakens my ear to hear as the learned.”
– Isaiah 50:4

Excuse my thinking aloud but I’ve been mulling over this verse over the last couple of days (and in fact on and off over the last 2 years). I got to say that I believe in spiritual gifts – the idea that God has made me better than others at certain things so that I can contribute back to the world I live in. And for a variety of reasons, I believe fairly strongly that my spiritual gifts have something to do this verse.

Of course, in my cynical moments, I do wonder if it is my own overactive brain trying to ascribe meaning to everything and trying desperately to attach value to my life. In the search for meaning of life, maybe meaning is constructed as a figment of the imagination. Like a strange compulsion to fill the void. Like mind over matter or positive self-talk. (An entirely plausible explanation for someone who is as strong-willed as me.)

But all that said, can someone please explain to me why, despite my best efforts to cut back on ministry/counseling/follow-up, exercising this gift still feels like stretching an underutilized muscle, like scratching an itch. Feels pretty good actually.

Don’t say coincidence. I don’t believe in coincidences.

One Response to “A word in season to him who is weary”

  1. Louise Lewis Says:

    Amen Sistah! No coincidences…I’ve spent the last five years listening only to Spirit’s messages. (One can define Spirit in their own terms.)

    If you have a gift, then continue to share it. It sounds like you, too, have a conversation between Ego and Spirit. When in doubt, ask yourself one question: “In this moment, am I living in Spirit or in Ego?” With practice, this one question will calibrate your day…your life.

    P.S. But when the Ego rears its ugly head (and it always does), just tell it to go sit in the naughty corner!

    Thank you for the post!
    Louise Lewis, Author
    No Experts Needed: The Meaning of Life According to You!


Leave a Reply

