The apologetic photographer

November 5, 2007

collage.jpg

I’m taking a basic photography course at Objectifs. So far it’s been very enjoyable although I should put more enough into practicing improving my skill. My photos tend to be underexposed and more than 1 full year after purchasing the camera, I’m finally figuring out what the buttons do.

This Saturday past the class headed out to Tiong Bahru for a field shoot. It was a very surreal experience. I used to spend a lot of time there when I was growing up. My grandmother lived there for many years and would go to the hairdresser/hawker centre/market/shops there out of habit. Going back to do a photography assignment made me feel a little bit like a tourist, like an observer of this world that I used to be a part of.

Anyway, here are some of the images from the shoot. If there was a style I was gearing towards, it would be photo-journalistic but unfortunately for me, I’m too shy to really get into the groove and snap away. It just feels like I’m intruding into people’s personal space and I feel terribly apologetic about taking photos.

Great. I’m a photographer who is sorry about taking photos. I definitely shouldn’t be quitting my day job anytime soon.

2 Responses to “The apologetic photographer”


  1. […] from the field shoot at Little India.  This series is of inanimate objects because I’m still too shy… Posted by cheryl Filed in […]

  2. Su-San Says:

    You really have an eye for pictures! The technical bits can be worked out, but having the eye is a gift! I don’t have the eye. I try and I try and I try, and my pictures are just plain ordinary…sigh. My photography teacher tried to tell me that it was OK, we don’t all have to be artistic, but he was just being nice.


Leave a Reply

